Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Queensryche: Operation- LIVE Crime

Released as a companion to the video bearing the same name Queensryche gives the listener the CD version of Operation: LIVE Crime. Simply put, this is an amazing recording of the full Operation: Mindcrime album by the band in their prime from a concert performed in 1991. Originally released when CD was a new medium it came as a boxed-set format with a VHS of the concert and a full color illustrated booklet. It was also released as a cassette tape (anyone remember those?). The VHS is what is featured on the DVD and while I would have liked to see the two released in the same package again, this serves the need for those fans that might only want audio and those that only want video. Music fans everywhere seem to know this recordings original album and that's what makes this a must have for the Queensryche section of your music collection. The Mindcrime album broke ground for Progressive Metal and showcased the massive talents of Queensryche not only as musicians but as storytellers capable of delivering Heavy Metal's version of The Wall. The two albums are similar in their epic and detailed story and listening to the live version from beginning to end is clearly the way that this album was meant to be enjoyed. In 1991 Queensryche was very on-top of their game and still running the original full lineup of Tate, DeGarmo, Jackson, Rockenfield and Wilton. Not a note seems to be missed and the production just makes you reach for that volume knob to edge it ever higher. I found myself doing this especially when my favorite numbers came on in the performance and in particular "I Don't Believe In Love" and "the Needle Lies". Pamela Moore from the original album makes an appearance during "Suite Sister Mary" and if you don't own the DVD yet, you must grab it for this song is more powerful visually than I thought possible in the audio. Overall the piece is excellent and the CD also includes two bonus unreleased tracks with "The Lady Wore Black" and "Roads To Madness".

The CD comes with among the highest of recommendations but I strongly urge fans to give the video a chance as well as it is equally enjoyable. If you are someone who just likes CD's then stop the waiting and get yourself a copy of this. There's a Revolution Calling you and its time you paid attention.

Track Listing
1. I Remember Now
2. Anarchy-X
3. Revolution Calling
4. Operation: Mindcrime
5. Speak
6. Spreading The Disease
7. The Mission
8. Suite Sister Mary
9. The Needle Lies
10. Electric Requiem
11. Breaking The Silence
12. I Don't Believe In Love
13. Waiting For 22
14. My Empty Room
15. Eyes Of A Stranger
16. The Lady Wore Black
17. Roads To Madness

Added: February 7th 2006
Reviewer: Ken Pierce
Related Link: Queensryche Website
Hits: 2645
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by