Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Cradle of Filth: Bitter Suites to Succubi

This 2001 EP from Cradle of Filth (actually, it's a pretty long EP by most standards) was the bands only release on Spitfire Records, and it is sort of looked at as an interim CD before the release of the grand yet claustrophobic epic Damnation and a Day. Containing mostly newer tracks and a few reworkings of older songs, Bitter Suites to Succubi is nevertheless a fulfilling batch of symphonic black and death metal.

There's plenty of winners here, like the pounding "All Hope in Eclipse" which combines Dani Filth's death & black metal vocals (I wish he would use the death vocals more actually) with plenty of sledgehammer guitar riffs and intricate keyboard work. "Born in a Burial Gown" is a speed metal burner with plenty of intricate guitar passages and orchestral keyboards. Three songs are re-done from The Prince of Evil Made Flesh album, the title track, "Summer Dying Fast", and "The Black Goddess Rises II", and all sound a bit more polished and perhaps heavier than the original versions. There's even a killer cover of the Sisters of Mercy song "No Time to Cry", a blistering rendition featuring Dani's screeching & gothic vocals, nicely well done. "Suicide and Other Comforts" also features some gothic influence mixed with crushing black metal, and this one has a nice epic feel.

Another aspect of the CD are the instrumental cuts, which are as creepy and atmospheric as anything you will hear in the metal genre. Both "Sin Deep My Wicked Angel" and "Dinner At Deviant's Palace" would be perfect tracks to play at your next Halloween party, as they easily can send a chill up your spine.

This is quality stuff from a band that despite their garish appearance and sometimes over the top sounds, are quite creative and a hell of a good metal act. If you can get used to Dani Filth's demonic wailing, there's plenty of symphonic extreme metal to savor in the CoF catalog, and Bitter Suites to Succubi is a solid example.

Track Listing
1. Sin Deep My Wicked Angel
2. All Hope In Eclipse
3. Born In A Burial Gown
4. Summer Dying Fast
5. No Time To Cry
6. The Principle Of Evil Made Flesh
7. Suicide And Other Comforts
8. Dinner At Deviant's Palace
9. The Black Goddess Rises II
10. Scorched Earth Erotica

Added: October 22nd 2005
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Official Website
Hits: 7019
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by