Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Various Artists: The Beatles and India-Songs Inspired by the Film/Original Film Soundtrack

The 2021 documentary The Beatles and India picked up multiple honors -- including “Best Music” and “Best Film Audience Choice” at the 2021 UK Asian Film Festival. This companion two-CD set features 19 songs written during The Beatles’ stay in Rishikesh, India, in the mid- and late 1960s and interpreted by Indian artists. They bring their own contemporary and native influences to everything from “Tomorrow Never Knows” to “Back in the USSR.” And that’s only the first disc; the second disc includes the film’s original score, which was written by award-winning composer Benji Merrison and recorded at, among other studios around the world, Abbey Road Studio 2.

Even if you haven’t seen the film (I haven’t -- yet), these performances still resonate. Not only do they offer further proof of how universal the music of The Beatles was and remains, but they also offer a fresh take on the so-called “Beatles tribute album” concept. Just listen to the power-pop bliss of “Everybody's Got Something To Hide (Except Me And My Monkey)” by Rohan Rajadhyaksha & Warren Mendonsa. Or Raaga Trippin’s wholly modern interpretation of “The Continuing Story of Bungalow Bill.” And if you thought “Across the Universe” couldn’t sound any dreamier, wait until you hear Tejas/Mali’s version. And, of course, no collection like this would be complete without at least one song by George Harrison, who spearheaded the Beatles’ interest in Indian spirituality. This album features two Harrison tunes, including Dhruv Ghanekar’s urgent rendition of “Love You Too.”

Meanwhile, the film’s soundtrack plays like peaceful background music with lots of soothing orchestral passages and melodic acoustic guitars that serve as the perfect sonic counterpoint to the covers CD.

All told, these two discs offer nearly two hours of music that will make you want to find out where you can stream The Beatles and India documentary. (Try iTunes, Sky Store, Google Play, Microsoft and Rakuten TV.)

Track Listing: Disc 1
1. Tomorrow Never Knows: Performed by Kiss Nuka
2. Mother Nature’s So: Performed by Karsh Kale / Benny Dayal
3. Gimme Some Truth: Performed by Soulmate
4. Across The Universe: Performed by Tejas / Mali
5. Everybody’s Got Something To Hide (Except Me And My Monkey): Performed by Rohan Rajadhyaksha / Warren Mendonsa
6. I Will: Performed by Shibani Dandekar / Neil Mukherjee
7. Julia: Performed by Dhruv Ghanekar
8. Child of Nature: Performed by Anupam Roy
9. The Inner Light: Performed by Anoushka Shankar / Karsh Kale
10. The Continuing Story Of Bungalow Bill: Performed by Raaga Trippin
11. Back In The USSR: Performed by Karsh Kale / Farhan Ahktar
12. I’m So Tired: Performed by Lisa Mishra / Warren Mendonsa
13. Sexy Sadie: Performed by Siddharth Basrur / Neil Mukherjee
14. Martha My Dear: Performed by Nikhil D’Souza
15. Norwegian Wood (This Bird Has Flown): Performed by Parekh & Singh
16. Revolution: Performed by Vishal Dadlani / Warren Mendonsa
17. Love You To: Performed by Dhruv Ghanekar
18. Dear Prudence: Performed by Karsh Kale / Monica Dogra
19. India, India: Performed by Nikhil D’Souza

Track Listing: Disc 2
1. Main Titles
2. Diminutive Yogi
3. Crazy Trailblazer
4. Selling Like Hotcakes
5. A Few Lessons
6. Something Very Grateful
7. Rishikesh Bridge
8. Jai Guru Dev
9. A Simple Existence
10. Old Ashram
11. The Prayer Room
12. 50 Years Ago
13. Feeling and Heart
14. All Of India
15. Birthday Party
16. Spiritual Teacher
17. A Dealbreaker
18. Secrets Revealed
19. Down To Kerala
20. Small Gift To The World
21. End Credits

Added: August 10th 2022
Reviewer: Michael Popke
Related Link: The Beatles and India Website
Hits: 480
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by