Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Resistor: The 5th Season

Given the prog tag this band proudly wear, The 5th Season, which is actually the 6th album from US progressive rockers Resistor, begins in a much heavier vein than anticipated. That’s not to say that this quartet come anywhere close to progressive metal but if the tag prog rock immediately conjures up some laid back, but technical fare, then you’ll be pleasantly surprised by how forceful this band can be. That said, “Saint Iris”, with its natural flow and incidental flute does move things into a more modern Jethro Tull setting, after the opening track, “Winter”, takes us on its journey from blowing winds to riff fuelled rock - with a twist.

Singer Steve Unruh, who is also one half of the band’s guitar attack alongside Fran Turner, seems able to veer from all out vocal brawler to smooth storyteller, as evidenced in the refined strum of “Seraphim”, which also brings some gentle violin into play. With “Till Spirits Rise” looking to bring most of the elements previously explored into fruition, it’s a grower that knows when to push hard and when to ease off. With vaguely folk intentions explored throughout - although more through the instrumentation than the atmospheres created - once more, the forcefulness of “Aurora” and its more Beardfish like swirl feels like it comes out of left field, but it’s a welcome move nonetheless, and one that really does contain some interesting guitar interplay.

With “Falling Snow” landing somewhere between wistful introspection and something much more energetic, the bases really are covered here. For some I’d guess that what The 5th Season offers up could be neither fish nor foul, with the possibility that it isn’t quite ‘prog’ enough for some, while maybe not being quite straight forward enough for others, a distinct possibility. If, however, you like your rock to arrive well considered and with a folky side that’s tempered by full on riffers and some more ethereal intentions, then Resistor will be something of a discovery.

Track Listing
1. Winter
2. Saint Iris
3. Seraphim
4. Cricket Season
5. Till Spirits Rise
6. Aurora
7. Falling Snow

Added: April 17th 2022
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: The 5th Season @ bandcamp
Hits: 266
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by