Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Quill: Riding Rainbows

Riding Rainbows is the new release from long-running British rock band Quill (not to be confused with the Swedish heavy rockers THE Quill) and features a dozen new songs that cross over across multiple genres such as blues, hard rock, folk, and pop, also highlighted by a few notable guest stars. The band for the album are:

Joy Strachan-Brain (Lead vox) ~ Bev Bevan (Percussion/drums) ~ Kate McWilliam (Violin/vox) ~ Abby Brant (Keys/vox) ~ Lee T. Evans (Guitars/vox) ~ John Jowitt (Bass/vox) ~ Andy Edwards (Drums/Percussion/guitar)

Obviously, some notable name above, firstly Mr. Bev Bevan, legendary drummer of The Move and Electric Light Orchestra, as well as briefly with Black Sabbath, and he leads this band with his partner & lead vocalist Joy Strachan-Brain. From the prog-rock world you have drummer Andy Edwards (IQ, Frost*, as well as Robert Plant), bassist John Jowitt (Frost*, Arena, IQ, Jadis, Ark), and together with the rest of the line-up makes for a formidable band indeed. Lee Evans is a spectacular guitar player, whether on electric or acoustic, and the lovely violin on Kate McWilliam is just icing on the cake. From the more hard rock fare of the opening title track, the bluesy "Black Dog Day", to the more folk based "Winter Rain" and "Chinese Whispers", there's plenty of variety to be found here that showcase everyone's talents. Joy's charming vocals soar on the playful "Bullet Proof" alongside Kate'a lovely violin, while "Love on the Run" blends bluesy tones with prog, and "Dead Man Walking" is classy, melodic blues rock, gorgeous keyboards, strings, and tasty guitar licks at every turn. Ex-Black Sabbath singer Tony Martin saddles up next to Joy on the heavier "We're Only Human", Bevan & Jowitt pounding away in the background, and Edwards lays down some impressive stick work on the proggy, and quite heavy "Begin Again", the band sounding like vintage Kansas with the crunchy guitar riffs, commanding keyboards, and wispy violin.

All in all, Riding Rainbows is a fun and classy affair from a group of total professionals, and it goes without saying that Quill are a band that deserve attention outside of the UK...North America, I'm talking to you!

Track Listing
1 Riding Rainbows 4:55
2 Black Dog Day Featuring - Andy Fairweather-Low 3:55
3 Winter Rain 3:38
4 Chinese Whispers Featuring - Nick Pentelow 3:53
5 Bullet Proof Featuring - John Lodge 3:50
6 Love On The Run Featuring - Chris Norman 4:18
7 Dead Man Walking Featuring - Maverick Strings 5:05
8 We're Only Human Featuring - Tony Martin 4:56
9 Coat Of Colours Featuring - Maverick Strings, Richard Bailey (3) 4:24
10 Begin Again 4:36
11 All You've Left Me Is Alone Featuring - Maverick Strings 5:10
12 Scratchin' At My Door 3:36

Added: April 8th 2022
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 212
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by