Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Silent Call: Windows

Silent Call is a progressive metal band originating in Stockholm, Sweden having formed in 2006 but the roots of the band go back to the ‘90s when a couple of members played in the heavy rock band SATINS ‘N’ LACE. Their first album titled Creations From A Chosen Path was released in 2008, followed by: Greed (2010), Truth’s Redemption (2014) and their latest titled Windows (2019). The band disbanded for a few years after the Truth’s Redemption disc and apparently Windows will be their last album which I have to say is a real shame as this band has put together a fine progressive metal platter composed of thirteen tracks with a running time of sixty-one minutes.

The first track “Faceless” begins with lush synths and orchestrations having a Nightwish feel. The music builds then a piano and vocal melody unfolds before the music gets heavier with solid guitar riffs and powerful drums. The vocals are quite varied and expressive, a definite high point and the musicianship is very tight. These guys are very good at what they do, dramatically heavy music with lots of twists and turns. With “Soulshaker” the drums and guitar are heavy right from the start, another solid power/progressive metal offering. The synth solo and weaving rhythms are outstanding showing the band’s creative proclivity. “Imprisoned In Flesh” is a fast paced heavy tune with some neatly placed synths with a drum attack that absolutely slays while “Shifting Shape” is an emotively pretty power ballad with wonderful lead vocals and piano before it breaks into some tasty lead guitar. The music really soars at this point. The orchestrations and heavy accents come together nicely in the intense and dramatic “Invisible” and in the album ending “Eye Of Destruction” the massive organ sounds are a real treat.

Silent Call have bowed out with a fine progressive metal album in Windows. I wish the band members future success in whatever musical path they choose.

A Rockshots Records release.

Track Listing:
1. Faceless (5:31)
2. Soulshaker (3:50)
3. Imprisoned In Flesh (4:20)
4. Shifting Shape (4:12)
5. Among The Ruins (3:56)
6. Clouded Horizon (4:35)
7. The Unknown (4:57)
8. Hermetic (4:01)
9. Shedding Skin (4:41)
10. Damnation (5:01)
11. Invisible (5:12)
12. Bleeding Me Dry (4:22)
13. Eye Of Destruction (6:13)

Added: August 29th 2020
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band @ Facebook
Hits: 754
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by