Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

RPWL: Live From Outer Space

One of my favourite albums of the last year was RPWL’s Tales From Outer Space, the German band’s tenth studio album. It has everything you would want from a classic RPWL record; melodic vocals, tight musicianship and a great batch of tunes. Much to my surprise the ensuing live album Live From Outer Space has now crossed my listening desk.

Just as they are an excellent studio band, RPWL also proves they are up to the task in a live setting. This is just an excellent double disc set. The first disc is the entire Tales From Outer Space album and the band do a superb job. The concert begins with the narrative piece “News From Outer Space” setting the storyline and offering some nice orchestral synths and keys in the process. The heavier riffs break out immediately in “A New World” with its catchy chorus, spacey keys and melodic lead vocals. I have always really liked Lang’s voice and he really nails it here. “Welcome To The Freak Show” might just be the catchiest tune here. Some of the drum work reminds me of Mick Mason, ala Dark Side Of The Moon and the lead guitar is quiet biting at times. Just an excellent tune. With “Light Of The World” the majestic guitar solos soar and the keyboards are some of the prettiest on the album. Another great track, quite moody and atmospheric and pretty catchy as well. Not only are these guys great musicians but they can write a damn fine melody too. Love the keyboard intro/melody intro in ”Not Our Place To Be”, the guitar lines weave through the piece adding extra bite, contrasting with the softer sections. Probably the tastiest track is “What I Really Need” which reminded me of Division Bell era Pink Floyd. Quite a beautiful track indeed. The keyboard solo in the moody “Give Birth To The Sun” is another high point.

On the second disc the band dig deep into their back catalogue beginning with “Hole In the Sky” taken from the God Has Failed album, a nice blend of melodic guitar and tasty keys invoking the spirit of Pink Floyd. The lead vocals are certainly reminiscent of Gilmour as well as the soaring guitar solo. “Sleep”, from The World Through My Eyes is highlighted with excellent guitar work as is the fantastic “Masters Of War” with its subtle dramatics and shimmering keyboards. For organ buffs both “Trying To Kiss The Sun” and “Roses” are more great choices.

Track Listing:
CD 1
1. News From Outer Space (3:07)
2. A New World (10:25)
3. Welcome To The Freak Show (7:53)
4. Light Of The World (12:41)
5. Not Our Place To Be (7:53)
6. What I Really Need (5:27)
7. Give Birth To The Sun (10:11)
8. Far Away From Home (4:32)

CD 2
1. Hole In The Sky (7:14)
2. Sleep (9:15)
3. Masters Of War (5:59)
4. Trying To Kiss The Sun (5:05)
5. Roses (7:09)
6. Unchain The Earth (7:44)

Added: May 9th 2020
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 646
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by