Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Tusmørke: Leker For Barn, Ritualer For Voksne

There’s no doubt that the majority of music made especially for children is inane nonsense that drives their parents to distraction, so surely there’s a market out there for something of more substance that both provides the sing along that pre-schoolers crave and the complexity of construction that should hopefully draw them, long term, into a wonderful world of music that contains much more depth?

To that end Norwegian folk-prog outfit Tusmørke release their second album aimed at the child/parent market, Leker For Barn, Ritualer For Voksne (Toys For Children, Rituals For Adults), as they follow a programme that now sees them alternate between full blown ‘grown ups’ releases and these family friendly efforts. Now in all honesty the band’s previous album, Fjernsyn I Farver - a Norwegian sung repetitive affair - left me rather cold, so maybe their kiddie friendly efforts would be more up my street? After all, most people would say I’m a big child anyway!

Sadly, however, the same repetition issues appear with this album - maybe more understandably this time given the intended audience - even if it finds the band augmented by a children’s choir and all manner of clinking, clanging, tinkling, twanging instrumentation. Although sung in Norwegian I believe that the intention has been to shine a light on the grown up themes that have long seeped into children’s games, which I’m sure you’ll agree is an intriguing set up. However, other than the funked up prog of the marvellously titled (no matter the language) “Sjubidubidu Sju” where the kids chant along as though under a demon’s powers, the results veer too close to the stereotypical kid’s song style to grasp the imagination - even if it is all presented with a loosely progressive undercurrent. Yes, there’s no denying the tightness of what’s been presented, or the skill of those involved in creating it but for someone who isn’t a parent of young Norwegian speaking children, the whole effect just slips by all too easily and in truth, other than the rather stunning album art, there’s pretty much nothing here that sticks in the mind.

Considering that this is the second such offering from Tusmørke there must be a demand for this type of stuff, but for me this is as niche as it gets. In fairness, it’s obvious that on a number of levels I’m not the target audience of Leker For Barn, Ritualer For Voksne, but then I’d guess neither are the majority of people who are looking for a fix of Norwegian progressive folk music.

Track Listing
1. Bro Bro Brille
2. Per Sjuspring
3. Kjerringa Med Staven
4. Ta Den Ring
5. Tornerose
6. Bjørnen Sover
7. På Torneroses Slott
8. Sjubidubidu Sju
9. Velkommen Til Hades
10. Kharons Vise
11. På Den Ytterste Nakne øya
12. Jeg Gikk Meg Over Sjø Og Land
13. Den Tolvte Baal
14. Gamlas Seierssang
15. Eventyret Er Ute
16. Du Og Jeg Og Vi To

Added: March 26th 2020
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Tusmørke on bandcamp
Hits: 617
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by