Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Google Ads

Witch Mountain: Witch Mountain

After a three year break, Oregon doom merchants return with a new self-titled release for Svart Records and a new line-up. Vocalist Kayla Dixon and bass player Justin Brown join mainstays Nate Carson (drums) and Rob Wrong (guitars) for a refreshed version of Witch Mountain, and the band basically pick up right where they left off. This latest release contains 5 tracks and roughly 35 minutes of new music, Dixon's powerful vocals soaring over the top of riff heavy numbers such as "Burn You Down" and "Midnight", Carson pounding the skin in fine fashion and Wrong not only laying down some hefty might but also ripping into some fiery solos. Kayla shows her sultry, bluesy side on the atmospheric "Hellfire", and playfully injects some mystical elements to the 14-minute epic closer "Nighthawk", a gargantuan doom track with some terrific blues rock soloing from Wong.

Good stuff all around here on Witch Mountain, the band showing their skills in a big way and and hoping they can break out of the underground where they've been toiling for far too long. Recommended.

Track Listing
1) Mignight
2) Mechanical World
3) Burn You Down
4) Hellfire
5) Nighthawk

Added: June 13th 2018
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 279
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by