Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Security Project: Contact

The Security Project first took to the stage in 2012 to commemorate the 30th anniversary of Peter Gabriel’s Security album. Since then the band has released the albums; Live1 (2016), Live2 (2016) and their latest live effort titled Contact (2017).

The band is Trey Gunn (touch guitar, backing vocals), Jerry Marotta (drums, backing vocals), David Jameson (keyboards, eigenharp), Michael Cozzi (guitar, backing vocals) and Happy Rhodes (vocals), who has replaced their former vocalist Brian Cummins. The vocals of Rhodes are quite different than Cummins, who sounded quite similar to Peter Gabriel. Most of the tracks are taken from Gabriel’s third self-titled release often referred to as the ‘Melt’ album and his fourth solo album Security. Eight of the tracks were previously featured on the Security Project’s first album but of course that was a different tour with a different lead singer. Besides, this band is uber talented and the performances are not exactly the same.

There are also questions regarding whether the Security Project is just a glorified cover band. I suppose technically they are but that isn’t a make or break deal for me. I listen to music that I enjoy and I can honestly say I am completely digging this album.

Let’s take a look at the first five tracks starting with the album opener “Lead A Normal Life”. The keys and guitar are crisp with voice samples used in the background. The crashing riffs add a dramatic flair and the melody is very nice, keeping with the original. The classic “I Don’t Remember” offers a slightly different take than the original mainly due to the lead vocals which are generally excellent throughout the disc. Rhode’s deeper inflections sound very nice on “San Jacinto” and the ambient parts are quite eerie, bringing a different feel to parts of the track. “Intruder” has guitar slicing through the soundscape along with delightful percussion and big keyboard swells, or is that guitar? Sometimes it’s hard to tell with this band due to their creative ingenuity. Those familiar dramatics begin “Rhythm Of The Heat”, the vocals and drums are exceptional and the recording is as clear as a bell.

Okay, so the question remains, should the band put their creative energies towards original compositions? While I think that would be a big plus I understand exactly what this band is doing and they are doing it very well. Another superb reimagining of solo Gabriel.

Track Listing:
1. Lead A Normal Life
2. I Don’t Remember
3. San Jacinto
4. Intruder
5. Rhythm Of The Heat
6. Mother Stands For Comfort
7. No Self Control
8. Family Snapshot
9. I Have The Touch
10. Games Without Frontiers / Of These, Hope
11. Lay Your Hands On Me

Added: May 7th 2018
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 946
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by