Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Seven Kingdoms: Decennium

I'm perpetually overjoyed when listening to a metal group that displays influences of Helloween but deploys a Doro-sounding female singer with a decidedly softer tone. This girl sang her way to my heart in the first two minutes of the opening track "Stargazer" which also contains furious takes on Savatage rhythms. And she has the melodic power of Evanescence's, Amy Lee and displays it fully on "Undying" a rousing metal track of operatic scope that is the perfect calling card of where this group is on the musical spectrum.

The guitar work on Decennium is a cut above many thrash metal bands whom often ditch any semblance of melody for straight head-banging mayhem. The overtones of Crimson Glory are welcome reminders of knowing your past before stepping into the future. On "The Tale of Deathface Ginny" the vocalist manages to deliver a King Diamond homage track with grace and stylistic flash that clearly exposes their experience and willing to dare different frontiers.

And just when I thought I would ever come across a Helloween meets Motorhead song, "Neverending" proves to be a thoroughly entertaining and powerful piece of Seven Kingdoms magical melding of progressive metal with intelligent but compatible thrash elements. I played this song so much I nearly forgot there were two more left on the album.

The final track "Awakened From Nothing" is an anti-cacophony anthem of pure passion and power as to render any notions of commercialism down the drain. Seven Kingdoms' can rock with the best of them without having to deafen the doormen of a dragon's castle. Keith Byrd, drummer for this group is a professor of percussion and perhaps one of the very best drummers I have ever reviewed in my writing career. This man like this group plays like tomorrow is not guaranteed; thus, pouring their souls into an album that rises above even the most complex concept albums as of date.

Track List
  1. Stargazer 5:07
  2. Undying 5:12
  3. In the Walls 4:52
  4. The Tale Of Deathface Ginny 4:55
  5. Castles In The Snow 5:09
  6. Kingslayer 5:56
  7. Faceless Hero 4:16
  8. Neverending 5:46
  9. Hollow 4:49
  10. Awakened From Nothing 5:32

Added: July 12th 2017
Reviewer: Mark Antony Rossi
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1532
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by