Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Google Ads

Gösta Berlings Saga: Sersophane

In the tradition of fellow countrymen Anglagard and Anekdoten I bring you Gösta Berlings Saga and their latest effort Sersophane. The early beginnings of the band date back to 2000 but it wasn't until 2006 they released their debut Tid Är Ljud. Sersophane is the band's fourth release.

Band members include Alexander Skepp (drums, percussion, synthesizers), Einar Baldursson (electric, acoustic and lap steel guitars, synthesizers), David Lundberg (Fender Rhodes, synthesizers, Mellotron) and Gabriel Tapper (bass guitar, Moog Taurus).

I have been curious about GBS for many years but had yet to really explore their music. There has been much praise of the band in progressive rock circles and after listening to the new disc a few times the hype is certainly warranted. The music is complex yet brimming with a certain listenability ensuring the music is really about the cohesiveness of the playing and not a group of four individuals showing off their skills. The guitar approach is both angular and melodic, sometimes smoothing out the edges or forming more complex edges.

The first track "Konstruktion" starts with an awesome bass line and somewhat angular guitar that has a hint of twang reminding a little of that 'old western' sound. The tone is slightly fuzzy with smart use of keyboards supporting the melody. The title track begins with a sequence of guitar notes with the mellowness building into excellent riff progressions and powerful yet complex drumming. The intensity eases off allowing the music to build again highlighting excellent guitar and drum work throughout the tracks eight minutes.

A major highlight has to be "Fort Europa" with its experimental sounds, great groove and fantastically edgy guitar work. This is probably the trippiest song on the disc and I dare say has a space rock vibe.

Another great track is the fifteen minute "Channeling the Sixth Extinction". The song's mood takes on different tones, from dark and edgy to catchier realms, especially the guitar phrasings and awesome use of synthesizer. A propulsive drum beat, fuzzy bass and tasty builds should have most progressive rock fans clamouring for more.

Sersophane is really a fine album that gets better and better the more time I give it. Both melodic and complex, this is instrumental music perfectly suited for fans of instrumental progressive rock. Highly recommended.

Track Listing:
1. Konstruktion (2:59)
2. Sersophane (8:04)
3. Fort Europa (8:06)
4. Dekonstruktion (3:33)
5. Channeling the Sixth Extinction (15:15)
6. Naturum (1:04)

Added: April 9th 2017
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 631
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by