Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Church of Hed: Electric Sepulcher

Church of Hed is the alter ego/side project of Quarkspace drummer/keyboard player Paul Williams, and Electric Sepulcher is the third album from the Hed, originally released in 2015. Dedicated to the memories of Daevid Allen, Edgar Froese, Dieter Moebius, and Chris Squire, all whom passed away last year, Williams plays all the parts on the album in loving fashion, creating a swirling, intoxicating blend of ambient, electronica, and space rock styles that will thrill your senses. For the album, Williams utilized this equipment:

Synths: Moog Sub 37, Korg Z1, Korg Prophecy, Korg Volca Keys, Korg Volca Bass, Korg Monotron Delay, Yamaha MM8, Waldorf Streichfett, Waldorf Micro Q, Kawai K5000W, Kawai K4, Roland VS-1

Drums: Roland TD-8, Alternate Mode TrapKat

Software: Korg iMS-20, Korg iPolysix, Moog Animoog, Arturia iMini, Arturia iSEM, Arturia CS-80V, BFD, FL Studio, M-Tron, Pro Tools

Not surprisingly, an album like this is best listened to through headphones, allowing a tune such as "Godspeed You Alien Dingo" to take you to deep, dark space and planets uninhabited, as layers of bleeping, bubbling synths and an array of percussion sweep you away like a head on collision between Tangerine Dream and Hawkwind. The creepy yet upbeat title track mixes Moog and Fender Rhodes to great effect, as trance meets space rock meets jazz-fusion, while the Mellotron sounds come out to combat dance beats on the wild "House Tron". The more majestic "Trace the Rubycon" features Williams' always excellent drum skills supported by lovely synth & piano melodies for one of the albums more prog rock styled compositions.

If you are a synth enthusiast, there's plenty to enjoy here on Electric Sepulcher, an album with many layers that is just seeping with space rock, psychedelia, ambient, electronica, and proggy goodness.

Track Listing
1. Eternal 2 1:30
2. The Moebius Wave 4:53
3. Electric Sepulcher 7:03
4. Glacial 3:42
5. East of Christopher 4:11
6. Godspeed You Alien Dingo 10:15
7. House Tron 2:47
8. Trace the Rubycon 5:09
9. Eternal 1 3:46

Added: December 18th 2016
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1286
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by