Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Joan Jeanrenaud: Visual Music

Joan Jeanrenaud is a cellist with four albums to her credit with her latest being Visual Music. There are seventeen tracks here and it is all cello except for some limited help from a few guest musicians including PC Muñoz whom she collaborated with on her Pop-Pop album from 2010.

The playing can be calm as in the opening track "Solo Prelude" or more intense as in the faster pace set in "Dead Reckoning". On the eerie "Isolo" the sounds are more unsettling with a definite ominous tone. Jeanrenaud is a master at taking multiple cello lines and weaving them through the soundscape creating an album that is really quite gripping. On "Pilasters" a calming cello is interrupted by more intense rhythms. Her use of multi-tracking is superb throughout the album.

Although this is not the type of music I normally listen to I found Visual Music to be quite captivating. Her sense of art and creativity are undeniable.

Track Listing:
1. Solo Prelude (2:46)
2. Pilasters (0:56)
3. Harmonic Harlem (5:04)
4. Isola (3:56)
5. Spinario (0:39)
6. Dead Reckoning (5:03)
7. Hypocrite (1:03)
8. Puzzle (3:42)
9. St. Paul (1:16)
10. Harlem Strut (8:03)
11. Winter (1:51)
12. Oulipo (2:44)
13. This Is Not A Duet (3:46)
14. Bacchanal (1:09)
15. Moon Above (4:42)
16. Virgin & Child (1:38)
17. Ethereal Tree (6:51)

Added: October 27th 2016
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 1335
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by