Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Candiria: While They Were Sleeping

Brooklyn's odd timed, Metal meets Jazz meets Hard Core legends, Candiria, have returned with another chapter in their ongoing saga, While They Were Sleeping. This 12 track album is a spiraling, dissonant and unforgiving record that continues to show growth and exploration.

The title track, "While They Were Sleeping", kicks off this release with an almost Slayer-ish type of staccato riff that turns into a manic and passion filled opener. A very old school Candiria vibe and an great way to kick off a record. Next up is the lead single and video, "Mereya", that has a Blindside or maybe even a Quicksand type of riff that starts the song and pushes it all the way through along with its chunky and uptempo pulse and also features a loungy Jazz breakdown that isn't to be missed. Pure Candiria greatness, right there!

The term multi-genre was a term that must have been made up with Candiria in mind and current bands like the great Twelve Foot Ninja have obviously been paying attention to what Candiria has been doing over all of these years. The cross pollination of genres and sounds is a large part of what Candiria have been about since their humble beginnings, back in the early 1990's. Never afraid to try something different, the moody and breathy tune, "Opaque", is a tender and yet almost eerie beauty that just seems to suspend the listener in a trance and then just gently lets go. Easily a highlight on this mind-bending effort.

While They Were Sleeping is a great melding of old and new Candiria that also continues to challenge the musical boundaries that band have not allowed themselves to be boxed into. Abstract, experimental and intelligently sonic, Candiria continues to do NYC proud and delivers an easily Top 2016 Metal release with their musically brilliant and irregularly vast shot to the intellect.

Track Listing
  1. While They Were Sleeping
  2. Mereya
  3. Wandering Light
  4. The Cause
  5. Forgotten
  6. One of You Will Betray Me
  7. Opaque
  8. The Whole World Will Burn
  9. Behind These Walls
  10. With Broken Bones
  11. Ten Thousand Tears
  12. Servitude

Added: October 21st 2016
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1435
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by