Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

King Crimson: Discipline (40th Anniversary Series)

"Talk talk talk, it's only talk!"

Way back in 1974, Robert Fripp stated that progressive rock pioneers King Crimson were basically 'done', and for six years his statement did indeed ring true, until 1981 that is, when a brand new line-up and album burst on the scene which would dramatically change every preconceived notion of this legendary group for years to come. Gone were the sprawling arrangements,the proto-metal bombast, the jazzy underpinnings, and the haunting Mellotron, instead in their place crept post punk & new wave leanings that blended with incredibly complex instrumental dexterity. Joining Fripp for 1981s Discipline were guitarist/vocalist Adrian Belew (Frank Zappa, David Bowie, Talking Heads), bassist/Chapman Stick player Tony Levin (Peter Gabriel), and prior King Crimson/Yes/UK drummer Bill Bruford. Here we have another in the '40th Anniversary Series' of King Crimson reissues, which contains another stunning new stereo CD mix from Fripp & Steven Wilson, along with a DVD that features Wilson's 5.1 mixes, stereo mixes, videos, and other assorted goodies.

Most fans were probably unprepared for the dynamic and otherworldly sounds brought forth on Discipline, a very modern sounding record at the time but still unlike anything you've heard before. Belew's wild assortment of sounds from his Fender Stratocaster can he heard on the raucous "Elephant Talk" to the more sedate "Matte Kudasai", while the weaving arrangements alongside Fripp & Levin throughout "Frame By Frame", "Thela Hun Gingeet", and "Indiscipline" are equally savage, awe inspiring, and jaw dropping. Part jazz, part punk, part metal, part new wave, and most definitely progressive in every sense of the word. As daring as this band could be, it's also the gentle, beautiful moments, like on "Matte Kudasai" and "The Sheltering Sky" that are noteworthy, with lush tapestries of sound created by the guitars sweeping over dreamy rhythms. Wilson once again works his magic here, the new mix sounding fabulous, and of course if you have a home theater system the DVD will work its wonders for you with an assortment of options to choose from. There's even three cool video clips from the Old Grey Whistle, as the world saw this line-up for the very first time.

Also included in this deluxe digipack set is a great booklet packed with info on all the content, live & studio photos, and Fripp's diary commentary. Discipline has never been presented better.

Track Listing
1. Elephant Talk
2. Frame by Frame
3. Matte Kudasai
4. Indiscipline
5. Thela Hun Gingeet
6. The Sheltering Sky
7. Discipline
Bonus tracks:
Alt. mixes of The Sheltering Sky & Thela Hun Ginjeet mixed by Steven Wilson.

- 5.1 Lossless Surround Sound mix
- DTS 5.1 Surround Sound mix
- Album new mix - High Resolution Stereo
- Album original mix - High Resolution Stereo
- Rough mixes of the album in its first intended running order
Old Grey Whistle Test videos
+ further audio extras

Added: December 20th 2015
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 2628
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by