Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Odin's Court: Turtles All the Way Down

Odin's Court is a heavy rock band from Maryland who have seven CDs under their belts, the latest titled Turtles All the Way Down.

The only disc I have heard by the band is Deathanity, released in 2008 and from what I remember I liked it but have not played it in quite some time. When Turtles All the Way Down arrived in my mailbox my curiosity was piqued as I hadn't thought of this band in along time.

There have been a few changes in the intervening years as the band are now a three piece; Matt Brookins (electric and acoustic guitars, keyboards, backing and lead vocals, bass, programming, drums, percussion, sound effects), Rick Pierpont (electric guitars, backing vocals) and Dimetrius LaFavors (vocals). Guest musicians include former band mates John Abella (vocals), Savino Palumbo (keyboards), Craig Jackson (bass), Jeff Sauber (drums and percussion) and Seth Jackson (bass).

On Turtles All the Way Down the band play heavy rock inundated with catchy guitar riffs, cool keyboard passages and excellent lead vocals. While there are proggy touches in many songs, this is not an overtly progressive album. Of course that shouldn't matter when the music is so well played, upbeat and catchy as any rock/metal album I have heard in a while.

The title track is broken up into three parts and has a sound that strongly recalls Pink Floyd with Gilmour-like stabs of guitar laid over a crystalline keyboard soundscape. Melodic heavy rock can best be heard in "And the Answer is…" and "…But What's the Question?" both featuring catchy riffs and strong lead vocals. "Insomnia" is another heavy rocker beginning with a barrage of keyboards and guitars before a moodier theme ensues. The vocal arrangement is an album highlight.

The last track is the seventeen minute "Box of Dice (Does God Play?)" showcasing the band's progressive side. Staccato riffs, shifting tempos, fabulous guitar and keyboard interplay and soaring lead work makes this a fabulous musical statement.

Turtles All the Way Down is an excellent heavy rock album that should have tremendous crossover appeal for fans outside the prog genre while still retaining a complexity and high level of musicianship that fans of melodic progressive rock are searching for. Released on Progrock Records.

Track Listing:
1. Turtles All the Way Down, Pt. 1
2. And the Answer Is…
3. …But What's the Question?
4. Insomnia
5. The Depths of Reason

6. Turtles All the Way Down, Pt. 2
7. The Warmth of Mediocrity
8. (A Song for) Dragons
9. The Death of a Sun
10. Back Where the Daffodils Grow
11. Life's Glory
12. Turtles All the Way Down, Pt. 3
13. Box of Dice (Does God Play?)

Added: February 11th 2015
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 2355
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by