Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

The Re-Stoned: Totems

The Re-Stoned, Russia's preeminent stoner outfit have thankfully returned to give us yet another mind numbing aural assault, with their latest effort entitled Totems. Comprised of founding member Ilya Lipkin (guitars, bass, voice), along with Alexander Romanov (bass) and Vladimir Muchnov (drums), Totems once again finds the band plowing their way through familiar sonic territory, as they combine their unique blend of ultra-heavy psychedelic rock jams, with elements of jazz and tinges of Eastern themes, that flow effortlessly through these nine, all instrumental compositions.

Once again encased in that warm cocoon glow that only an analog recording is able to provide, the songs offered up here, magically take their time to unfold, metamorphosing from the acoustic acid washed blues of "Melting Stones", to the blissed out cosmic fuzz of "Hypnosis" and the wah-wah infused workout that permeates throughout "Chakras". By the time the listener hit's the didgeridoo and Sabbath riffage on the epic "The Barbarian Hymn" and the atmospheric and trippy "Shaman", it's a one-two punch like no other. The disc concludes on a high note with "Sleepwalker" and the thundering vibrations of "Violet Harmonics". There isn't an ounce of filler to be found here as Lipkin and his crew have constructed almost an hour's worth of music, that allows the listener to just reach for the volume, simply close their eyes and let the music sweep them away.

I've said it before, but I'll say it again. For music of this nature (all instrumental, stoner rock) to be successful, you have to offer a complete listening experience that is both engaging and over and above the norm. In this regard The Re-Stoned never fail to deliver the goods. Totems stands right there, head and shoulders with the band's best work and in fact upon further reflection and repeated listens, it just might be their crowning achievement to date.

Track Listing
1) Fire Bear
2) Hypnosis
3) Chakras
4) Old Times
5) Melting Stones
6) The Barbarian Hymn
7) Shaman
8) Sleepwalker
9) Violet Harmonics

Added: February 2nd 2015
Reviewer: Ryan Sparks
Related Link: RAIG
Hits: 3212
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by