Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Osada Vida: The After-Effect

Polish proggers Osada Vida are back with a new album The After-Effect. The last couple of years have been an eventful one as line-up changes have reshaped the band. The players are Marek Majewski (vocals), Jan Mitoraj (guitars), Rafal "r6" Paluszek (keyboards), Lukasz Lisiak (bass) and Marek Romanowski (drums). The After-Effect is their fifth full length release and the follow up to last year's critically acclaimed Particles, which unfortunately I have yet to hear.

Osada Vida are considered to be one of the best progressive bands out of Poland and after listening to The After-Effect it is easy to hear why. This is a fantastic CD. Guitars, keyboards, vocals and a string quartet are used beautifully here. The music is a mixture of art rock and heavier prog with an occasional nod to progressive metal.

The first track "King Of Isolation" is an up-tempo rocker with dramatic progressive metal riffs and calmer moments featuring lovely piano. It is a dynamic and exciting opening track. The introspective ballad "Sky Full Of Dreams" is more poignant with earworm inducing guitar interwoven with a lush string arrangement. This is tasteful art rock at its absolute finest. In "Still Want To Prevaricate?" the dreamy keyboards, fluid bass and tasty acoustic and electric guitar are blended together seamlessly creating another tantalizing morsel of artful prog. Another great track is the heavier "Lies" with excellent fretwork and jazzy hued keyboards. The seamless transitions between the heavy riff led sections and quieter piano driven moments is pure class. The acoustically flavoured ballad "I'm Not Afraid" with its breathy warm vocals and wonderful guitar and the soaring guitar solo in the breathtaking "Losing Breath" are more spine tingling moments.

There is no doubt had I got to this sooner, The After-Effect would have made my year end 'best of' list. Just a superb progressive rock album that needs to heard. I can't wait to explore the rest of their catalogue. Highly recommended!

Track Listing:
1. King Of Isolation
2. Sky Full Of Dreams
3. Still Want To Prevaricate?
4. Lies
5. Dance With Confidence
6. I'm Not Afraid
7. Losing Breath
8. Restive Lull
9. Haters
10. No One Left To Blame

Added: December 31st 2014
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 2179
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by