Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

TNT: 30th Anniversary 1982-2012 Live In Concert With Trondheim Symphony Orchestra

They say that timing is everything; so why TNT have decided to wait two years to release 30th Anniversary 1982-2012 Live In Concert With Trondheim Symphony Orchestra, is anyone's guess. Especially when you factor in that one of the illustrious guests on that auspicious occasion was a certain Tony Harnell - a singer synonymous with the most successful period of this band - who has actually rejoined TNT after Tony Mills (Shy/Siam) departed not long after the recording of this show. Confused? Well, not if you're a long term TNT fan you won't be, as this sort of on-off-on relationship between Harnell and guitarist Ronni LeTekro has pretty much become the norm.

The rest of the line-up for this DVD/CD release includes original drummer Diesel Dahl, bassist Victor Borge and original singer Dag Ingebrigtsen, who provides gritty, authentic, vocals on three tracks ("USA", "Eddie" and the early fan favourite "Harley Davidson"), while none other than Dee Snider (Twisted Sister) and Hank Von Helvete (Turbonegro) also make guest appearances. Add in the Trondheim Symphony Orchestra and both the legendary status of this band and the sheer scale of the show presented here comes across loud and clear.

For many the main event will be Harnell's involvement and to be fair it's hard to argue that this is the part of the show that will have gotten most fans rabid with excitement on the night. Thankfully the singer does them proud; just listen to his faultless renditions of "10,000 Lover (In One)" for proof of just how phenomenal this frontman's voice still is. Following, as it does, a performance on the Harnell era classic "Everyone's A Star" from his predecessor, it suddenly takes what had been a perfectly acceptable Mills' vocal and trashes it in quite amazing, unexpected style. However Mills does himself proud on the latter day material, "Substitute" and "Refugee" both improving on the studio originals, while Harnell literally and peerlessly hits the vocal heights on "As Far As The Eye Can See" and "Intuition". The trio of voices, including Ingebrigtsen, combine on the closing "Seven Seas", proving their different attacks can combine quite superbly, while the orchestra provides one of the more sympathetic Rock/Classical crossovers you're liable to find on a live album. It isn't perfect, with little asides such as a sprightly run through of "Sabre Dance" a little throwaway, while "June", where Mills is excellent, is also a little surplus compared to its surrounds. However these are little quibbles, which alongside the lack of a Bluray version of this release, may niggle some, but in truth become small potatoes when considered alongside the rich fare served up throughout this album.

On a release where TNT simply provide the fans with what they want, both in terms of line-up and set-list, Ronni LeTekro proves, that when he bends a little to fan favour, he really can still deliver the goods. There's little doubt that 30th Anniversary is the goods. What comes next is anyone's guess; Harnell and LeTekro have promised live shows and hinted at a possible studio album to come. On this display, we can only hope those promises are lived up to.

Track Listing
1. Fanfare For The Common Man
2. Invisible Noise
3. Substitute
4. Refugee
5. As Far As The Eye Can See
6. Downhill Racer
7. Intuition
8. Northern Lights
9. Magica Lanterna (TekrÝ Solo)
10. Sabre Dance
11. Harley Davidson
12. USA
13. Eddie
14. June
15. My Religion
16. Everyone's A Star
17. 10.000 Lovers (In One)
18. Seven Seas

Added: November 21st 2014
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: TNT online
Hits: 2989
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» SoT Staff Roundtable Reviews:

TNT: 30th Anniversary 1982-2012 Live In Concert With Trondheim Symphony Orchestra
Posted by Simon Bray, SoT Staff Writer on 2014-11-21 14:32:42
My Score:

TNT has always been a band which I can either take or leave. This has been the case in all their incarnations. This album includes appearances by Hank Von Helvete (Turbonegro), Dee Snider (Twisted Sister), original TNT singer, Dag Ingebrigtsen, and vocalist Tony Harnell, who has since rejoined the group following the departure of Tony Mills who appears on "Refugee", "Substitute", and "June". The performances are all upbeat and high energy although the orchestra isn't as intrusive as it is on some similar type projects. "As Far As The Eye Can See" is particularly impressive and this is a pretty fine introduction to anyone wanting to get into TNT.

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by