Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

ZZ Top: Live at Montreux 2013 (Blu-ray)

There has been a slew of live ZZ Top releases over the last few years, both recent recordings and material from the archives, and here we have another, this time from their triumphant set at the Montreux Jazz Festival in 2013. Hot on the heels of their successful studio album La Futura, the band dipped into their back catalog of hits but also threw in a few surprises, most notable being a few tunes off that very fine new album. So, you might be asking, why purchase another live ZZ Top set if the band basically are marching out the same tunes once again? Well, if you read my last statement, there are a few surprises here, like the steamrolling "Gotsta Get Paid", "Flyin' High", and "Chartreuse", all three crunchy blues rockers that slide right into the set list as if they well worn songs from their distant past. The band also throw in a hot cover of Jimi Hendrix' "Foxey Lady", and bring on stage with them Mike Flanagan (Hammond B3) & Van Wilks (guitar) for the jazzy "Kiko" and the hot slow blues burner "I Loved the Woman", which sees Billy Gibbons unleash some torrid guitar solos. Toss in some of the familiar favorites such as "Got Me Under Pressure", "Waitin' for the Bus", "Jesus Just Left Chicago", "Tube Snake Boogie", and of course the mega hits "La Grange", "Tush", "Gimme All Your Lovin' ", "Legs", and "Sharp Dressed Man", and you have a well rounded set of the classic '70s rippers, a few '80s hits, some new tunes and a few surprises. The band as always is in fine form; this is no frills blues rock, and if you look past the canned moves and silly guitars on "Legs", the trio for the most part just stand there and let the muscular music pour out of them. These guys are still quite simply 'the real deal' when it comes to delivering their brand of hard hitting bluesy rock 'n' roll. It's all expertly filmed in high-definition with superb sound, adding up to another winner from the folks at Eagle Rock.

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing

  1. 'Got Me Under Pressure'
  2. 'Waitin' For The Bus'
  3. 'Jesus Just Left Chicago'
  4. Gimme All Your Lovin''
  5. 'Pincushion'
  6. 'Gotsta Get Paid'
  7. 'Flyin ' High'
  8. 'Kiko'
  9. 'I Loved the Woman'
  10. 'Foxey Lady'
  11. 'My Head's in Mississippi'
  12. 'Chartreuse'
  13. 'Sharp Dressed Man'
  14. 'Legs'
  15. 'Tube Snake Boogie'
  16. 'La Grange'
  17. 'Tush'

Bonus material-interviews with Billy Gibbons & Dusty Hill

Added: August 19th 2014
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Eagle Rock Entertainment
Hits: 1645
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by