Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Martyr De Mona: Impera

With two EPs and a self titled debut to their name already, Black Country Classic come Modern Rockers, Martyr De Mona, return with Impera, an album positively rampaging with energy and brimming with intent. Their most recent release, the two track Memento/Contagion found influences such as Shinedown and Alter Bridge slamming hard into Alice In Chains style vocals. Thankfully Impera is no different, although even in the space of a few months the quality control notch has been hiked up a couple of digits. Singer Louis Hale evokes a strong Layne Staley vibe, his smooth, even, yet powerful and, at times, melancholy delivery adding a thundering thump to the mid-paced stomp of "Sentient", while his ability to utilise variance in attacks works perfectly on the opening "Siege Mentality", where gigantic guitar assaults are interspersed and expertly interrupted by piano motifs. This track being a head turning introduction to an album that really doesn't let up from there.

Guitarist Ant Rickett (Hale and bassist Joshua 'JJ' Wooldridge also double up on guitar on occasion) provides a mix of assured hammer blows and considered swipes of melody, alongside some ear ripping solos. Although it is the classy arrangements and the band's ability to know when more is more and when less is even greater, that sets the likes of "Kyo", with its smart tempo changes and ever shifting riff, or "Suffer Unto Me", a confident slithering, yet muscular outing, apart from the ever growing list of bands using a similar template to demonstrate their wares.

Add to that a drummer, in the shape of Ashley Leatherland (yes, I know he sounds like some bizarre, disturbing, world of soft furnishings) and Martyr De Mona have the power and precision to drive their grooving yet technical juggernaut forward at breakneck speed. His ability to throw out blurred fills and sparking forays round his kit at will, also offers another clever focus point as the songs evolve.

Like all the best albums, Impera is a grower, getting better and more involving with each encounter. That doesn't mean you won't be forced to sit up and take note on initial encounter - you will - but vitally, it does mean that you won't tire of its wares either. Instead as you get to know Martyr De Mona and their music, you'll realise that they are a potent, impressive force to be reckoned with.

Track Listing
1. Siege Mentality
2. Influence & Persuasion
3. Reprisal
4. Sentient
5. Impera
6. Nothing Sacred
7. Gravity Breaks
8. KYO
9. Suffer Unto Me
10. HollowShore

Added: April 2nd 2014
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Martyr De Mona Online
Hits: 2376
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by