Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Killers: South American Assault Live (remastered)

This disc was originally released as Paul Di'Anno & Killers South American Assault Live and this re-issue even though now under the moniker of just Killers, still packs a good punch. This band lineup is basically a Paul Di'Anno and friends, comprising of members of Tank, Raven and Battlezone. This lineup also is not the lineup that would later produce the fantastic Murder One or Menace to Society, but they do a nice job of the music that had already been made up to this point which would be tunes from the first two Maiden records, solo Di'Anno and Battlezone material.

Ex-Iron Maiden vocalist, Paul Di'Anno and this version of his Killers band slay through a 12 track set on this record, featuring 7 Maiden classic's like "Murders in the Rue Morgue", "Wrathchild", "Phantom of the Opera" and "Strange World". Di'Anno is found in great voice on these classics as is bass player, John Gallagher of Raven, who keeps pace with the iconic bass lines of Steve Harris and also provides some stellar backing vocals. Di'Anno's other songs on this live release like CD opener, "Overloaded", "Children of Madness" or "Metal Tears" all stand shoulder to shoulder with the Maiden material and show the good things that are to come in the future, despite lineup changes. Maiden purists will note that some of the guitar parts in the set list are not spot on, but they will suffice and Gallagher on bass makes up for the straying of the leads with his excellent renditions.

All and all, this Killers-South American Assault Live is one nice piece of metal history. This record has LONG since been out of print and now, not only do you have a chance to hear it again, but you also get 5 live rehearsal recordings as bonus tracks. The one thing that bothers me about the recording is the obviously fake, piped in crowd noises in spots. The crowd noise is SO loud while the band is actually playing that it is almost laughably fake, but other than that this is a solid piece of Metal history. Is it Maiden? No, it is not, but it is quite good and a stamp of time from a one off band lineup from the early '90's, plus Di'Anno sounds fucking cool!

Band Lineups:
Paul Di'Anno - Vocals
Cliff Evans Guitars
Ray Detone Guitars
John Gallagher Bass
Steve Hopgood - Drums

Paul Di'Anno - Vocals
Cliff Evans Guitars
Graham Bath Guitars
Brad Weisman Bass
Steve Hopgood Drums

Track Listing
1. Overloaded
2. Murders In The Rue Morgue
3. Wrathchild
4. Remember Tomorrow
5. Children of Madness
6. Phantom of the Opera
7. Metal Tears
8. Strange World
9. Sanctuary
10. Running Free
11. The Promise
12. We Will Rock You / Smoke On The Water
13. Wrathchild (Live Rehearsal Recording)
14. Remember Tomorrow (Live Rehearsal Recording)
15. Murders In The Rue Morgue (Live Rehearsal Recording)
16. Wrathchild (Acoustic Version)
17. Remember Tomorrow (Acoustic Version)

Added: February 1st 2014
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1638
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by