Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Quireboys, The: Beautiful Curse

Teaming up The Quireboys with legendary producer Chris Tsangarides has proven to be a master stroke judging by the results of Beautiful Curse, the band's first new studio album since 2008's Homewreckers & Heartbreakers and one which finds them on a new label in Off Yer Rocka Recordings. It has been more than 20 years since they almost scaled the summit of the charts with sparkling debut A Bit Of What You Fancy but as the old saying goes you can't teach an old dog new tricks. So in the case of the Quireboys that means a swaggering barroom blues mix of sing-a-long rockers and world weary ballads all topped off by the unmistakable gravelled voice of frontman Spike.

Beautiful Curse is ushered in by the glorious 'Too Much of a Good Thing' which could be the Quireboys very own signature song and proves they can still write an immediate, attention grabbing tune. 'Talk of the Town' and 'Mother Mary' make for a pair of wistful, reflective ballads that are tinged with heartbreak and regret the latter is already a live favourite and is right up there as one of the bands best ever moments. The line-up may have changed a number of times over the years but Spike, guitarist Guy Griffin and keyboardist Keith Weir are still combining irresistible hooks and melodies, check out 'Diamonds and Dirty Stones' or 'Twenty Seven Years' for proof of their endurance. The debut album is righty regarded as a classic but on this latest release the Quireboys have truly never sounded better.

And what better way to sum up Beautiful Curse but in the words of Spike himself, from our interview at the end of 2012. "Everyone has been asking what's the new Quireboys album going to sound like and I just say well what do you think it's going to sound like? It's going to sound like a cross between The Rolling Stones, The Faces and Mott The Hoople and a bit of AC/DC. Can you get any better than that? I'd listen to it, you know what I mean". He couldn't have put it any better.

Track List:-
01. Too Much Of A Good Thing
02. Chain Smokin'
03. Talk Of The Town
04. Mother Mary
05. King Of Fools
06. Homewreckers And Heartbreakers
07. Diamonds And Dirty Stones
08. Beautiful Curse
09. Don't Fight It
10. For Crying Out Loud
11. Twenty Seven Years
12. I Died Laughing

Added: June 29th 2013
Reviewer: Dean Pedley
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2005
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by