Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Staind: Live From Mohegan Sun (Blu-ray)

Once the darlings of the nu-metal scene about a decade ago, Staind have certainly been keeping a low profile in recent years despite being as active as always on the recording and touring front. Let's face it, their brand of 'melancholy metal' had its 5 minutes in the spotlight, and though audiences flocked early on, they've just as quickly moved on over the last few years. Judging by Live From Mohegan Sun, there's a good reason why the popularity of Staind has slowly slipped; their music simply lacks fire, and most songs plod along in a similar pattern and tempo. One quick look every time the camera focuses on the audience here at this Connecticut show (shot in November, 2011 by the way) sees the fans sitting stone-still and silent, not what you'd expect at a hard rock/metal show at all. The band themselves aren't the most eye appealing either, as singer Aaron Lewis basically stands at the microphone with his eyes closed and strums his guitar, and lead gutiarist Mike Mushok & bassist Johnny April also are fairly stationary throughout, despite the occasional headbang or jump. Much of the material spreads throughout the bands career, and are comprised of angry nu-metal ragers, or angst ridden moody rockers, as Lewis fluctuates between sad crooning, shouts, and a deep metalcore styled growl. Quite frankly, it's not at all exciting from a musical standpoint, and unless you are a real fan of the band too much of Live From Mohegan Sun is sleep inducing.

That being said, from a production standpoint, the video and audio on this Blu-ray is quite good. The colors are bright, the high-definition quality is crystal clear, and the audio is well balanced and sparkling. Loyal followers of Staind will be happy to see such a kick ass presentation of this concert, so for that I have to recommend this Blu-ray. If you've never been a fan of the band, or have been on the fence about them, this dreary, dated, bloated set of melancholy and depressed metal certainly won't change your mind.

Track Listing
1) Eyes Wide Open
2) Falling
3) Right Here
4) Throw It All Away
5) Spleen
6) Fade
7) Failing
8) So Far Away
9) Crawl
10) Country Boy
11) For You
12) Paper Wings
13) Outside
14) Not Again
15) It s Been Awhile
16) Mudshovel
17) Something To Remind You.

Added: August 14th 2012
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Eagle Rock Entertainment
Hits: 1789
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by