Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Google Ads

Crossfade: We All Bleed

Remember the mainstream darlings that were the band Crossfade? My how things have changed. Gone is their record label, their mainstream drivel and replaced with an extremely dark and powerful resurrection of an album. That album is called, We All Bleed (Eleven Seven Music) and I am as surprised as you will be when you check out this record. It's awesome! It just goes to show you how much anger and rejection can spawn a gem of an effort and great record!

Guitarist Les Hall (who was also the chief producer of the album)delivers some tasty, heavy riffing all throughout We All Bleed that I still can't get over. He lays down some really nice lead work as well and his production also being top notch, while bass player, Mitch James locks down the low end and gets to show what he can do all over this record as well. From lead track, "Dead Memories", the muscular riffage is roofed in the mix with a great guitar tone blaring out at you. Songs like "KillingMe Inside", "Prove You Wrong" and "Lay Me Down"all show the new, more powerful Crossfade in all their 2011 glory. Sounding more like a band like Sevendust and Cold, than the Alternative radio friendly band that these guys once were. The title track, and "Open Up Your Eyes" are excellent showcases of what singer Ed Sloan's vocals are all about. At times he reminds me of a more angrier and heavy Chris Daughtry and coupled with their new heavier songwriting direction, the results that are We All Bleed is an excellent document.

The ace in the hole on this record is the drum god, Will Hunt (BLS,Skrape, Evanescence, Tommy Lee, Bloodsimple) who plays on this entire record. Hunt always delivers a very distinct, powerful and heavy performance on any recording that he has been involved with and this Crossfade record is no different. Hunt's drumming pushes the heavier songs into an entirely different realm and makes this record. Not a member of the band but what a stellar performance, as always!

Crossfade have a tremendous record here with We All Bleed but as with most records it is not without its clunker and that song is "Dear Cocaine". This is a whiny, almost comical track that is more self serving than a song that should have been included on this killer record. That withstanding, it still can't kill the vibe that is We All Bleed.This record features some heavy orchestrations along with some great, get stuck in your head, choruses that will have you spinning this disc over and over. This record is heavy, mean and angry all while never sacrificing some great songwriting. Who says that change isn't good? Never thought I'd say it, but this Crossfade record just simply smokes!!

Track Listing

  1. Dead Memories
  2. Killing Me Inside
  3. Prove You Wrong
  4. Lay Me Down
  5. Dear Cocaine
  6. Suffocate
  7. I Think You Should Know
  8. We All Bleed
  9. Open Up Your Eyes
  10. Make Me A Believer

Added: November 10th 2011
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1194
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by