Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Sequester: Shaping Life and Soul

Canada is the home of the power trio. Of course you have Rush and then Triumph, now you have Sequester. The difference is that this amazing musical threesome consist of the left hand, right hand and vocal chords of one Ryan Boc. Yes, this simply stunning progressive album is the work of just one guy and he is a force to be reckoned with in the music world. This much talent wrapped up into one body is almost scary. He has a way of capturing a combination of musical genres and blending them to produce a hybrid form that will have you searching out everything that this chap has ever put down on tape!

I was amazed to find out that this is not the first offering from Ryan. He has another disc before this one and it will be added to the collection for sure. It is hard to imagine that he has flown under the radar and is not one of the names on the lips of every prog connoisseur.

My first thought as the opening track "The Awakening" hit me was early Moody Blues after an almost Iron Maiden intro. It is easy to hear that Ryan is a student of the history of rock and roll. You will hear elements that combine many different forms and eras but one thing in common is that they are all done by an artist who knows the correct medium to use for the message he wants to convey.

When he turns to a more melancholy subject with "Solace From Lies" Ryan brings a much heavier and darker tone to his guitar in a very Gothic and somber way. His vocal delivery has just the right amount of angst to turn this one into a very soulful lament. Overall this album is a bit dark and brooding, not totally but the heaviness is pretty evident the majority of the time. There are a few lighter moments like the upbeat beginning and the blistering power metal of "Bhaalspawn" which is another fine example of the multitude of musical talent Ryan possesses as he gives he gives you a terrific piano interlude between some heavyweight guitar work.

If you are not impressed by this point then all I have to say is that Ryan leaves you with a fantastic bit of progressive metal called "The Dark Passenger". This album closer is a multifaceted piece that takes you on a majestic ride with many a peak and valley. This song as like so much of his work, engulfs you and becomes something you feel as opposed to just hearing.

This album took me so much by surprise with it's power and the fact that one guy alone is responsible. It is something extraordinary and Ryan is just getting started! He is still a student in college and the thought of what he might come up with after he gets a little bit of life experiences under his belt is scary. This is someone to watch out for. I fully expect to hear some truly mesmerizing music to be coming out of the Great White North!!

Track listing:

1. The Awakening
2. Solace From Lies
3. Night's Watch
4. Vampiric Humanity
5. Taunted by Fate's Mirage
6. Confined to Silence
7. Bhaalspawn
8. The Dark Passenger

Added: May 21st 2011
Reviewer: Scott Ward
Related Link: Band's Official Page
Hits: 3105
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by