Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Ophidian Forest: Plains

Plains is the second release from Croatian/US/Dutch pagan black metal outfit Ophidian Forest. Pretty interesting fact about this band is that the three members have never physically met; Guitarist/bassist Zaragil lives in Croatia, drummer Otrebor lives in San Francisco, and vocalist/keyboardist/lyricist Amalgamoth is from the Netherlands. All three however met in the cyber world while writing for US metal webzine Maelstrom, and decided to put Ophidian Forest together, swapping music files over the internet, and a band was born.

On this new release, which comes in an attractive mini-DVD clamshell case, the band once again go for the juggular, with nine tracks of pulverizing, punishing black metal. If you like your black metal raw, savage, and nihilistic, you've come to the right place, as Plains will more than satisfy your extreme needs. Amalgamoth has the perfect vocal delivery for this stuff, as his demonic, frenzied wailings on tunes such as "The Heathen Revolution" and "The Eagel" go hand in hand with the relentless barrage of tremelo picked guitar riffs and jackhammer blast beats. Good to hear the band toss in some variety on the almost doomy "The Frozen Plains", as the band project a picture of icy cold, barren wastelands, complete with agonizing, almost tortured screams & rasps over mountains of keyboards, blasts, and textured guitar patterns. One of the strongest tracks is "Messiah of the Trees", a kick ass slice of black metal mayhem with some terrific riffs, and the closing epic "The Nightly Plains" is 13 minutes of atmospheric black metal, nightmarish sounds, and even some punk inspired metal for good measure.

Plains is pretty strong when you consider that the three members of Ophidian Forest have never actually met in person, but in this digital age, this sort of thing happens pretty often. If you like your Pagan Black Metal with plenty of fire and intensity, you'd be wise to check into this one.

Track Listing

  1. The Morning Plains
  2. Fenrir
  3. The Eagle
  4. Gnostic Nightmare
  5. The Heathen Revolution
  6. The Frozen Plains
  7. Messiah of the Trees
  8. The Times They Are Decaying
  9. The Nightly Plains

Added: December 12th 2010
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1762
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by