Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

ConcertsHELL at MFN Club, Shipley Gate, Nottingham U.K 5/20/2011

Posted on Wednesday, June 01 2011 @ 19:42:27 CDT by Pete Pardo
Heavy Metal

Their first show for 25 years and dubbed as their album release party ladies & gentlemen welcome to HELL! Choosing a small local bikers club and packing it full of amps a pulpit and pyro, its what gigs from yester year used to be like when bands actually made an effort to entertain. The P.A is making my head pulse and the band aren't even on stage yet but the buzz is electrifying, people have literally travelled from all over the world to be here, no pressure then lads!!!

Tearing onto the stage in a sea of smoke & pyro, from the off you know this is gonna be a great gig. Combining the ability to put on a gig & a show is a rare achievement and vocalist Dave Bower combines his theatrical talents and the ability to be a transfixing frontman perfectly. Ripping riffs shuddering bass lines and tight thunderous drums deliver us 'Let Battle Commence'. We have the 666 jewelry, a crown of thorns, huge organ stage right and the fret board shredding Andy Sneap delivering the real deal here folks. Combining riffs that any of the Big 4 would draw blood to have in their back catalogues, Hell simply showed what it was to put on a metal show. From the preaching atop the pulpit to the fire breathing and bible catching fire it was sublime. Ripping through the fantastically apt 'The Quest' and returning for an audience demanding encore, Hell left us in a room full of intoxicating pyro & fire and truly convinced everybody this was no flash in the pan idea to reunite. As gigs go this was near perfect in all departments and a good precursor for their European festival appearances. Welcome back HELL the gates to Heaven are well and truly locked tight for you all!!!

1. Overture (Themes From 'Deathsquad')
2. Let Battle Commence
3. On Earth as It Is in Hell
4. Plague & Fyre
5. The Oppressors
(Race Against Time Cover)
6. Blasphemy and the Master
7. The Devil's Deadly Weapon
8. The Quest
9. Macbeth
10. No Martyr's Cage
11. Encore:
11. Save Us From Those Who Would Save Us
12. Bedtime
(Race Against Time Cover)

Mark 'Tosh' Davies.

Hits: 1827

Related Links
· More about Heavy Metal
· News by petepardo

Most read story about Heavy Metal:
Lynch at 50: George Lynch looks ahead with lessons from the past

Printer Friendly Page  Print
Send  Send to a Friend

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by