Sea Of Tranquility



The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Who's Online
There are currently 84 guests online.

Google Ads





Marino, Frank & Mahogany Rush: Real Live

Editors Note: Every once in a while we are honored to receive a CD review from a special guest, and in this case guitarist Rick Ray gives us his take on the brand new release from legendary axe-slinger Frank Marino & Mahogany Rush

Frank Marino and Mahogany Rush, as of October 2004, have released a live album called 'Real Live' recorded in Montreal. This is Frank's best work to date, and he does have a lot of albums under his belt. On this album, Frank, without a record executive breathing down his neck saying, "edit those songs down to a respectable time", has released an album of REAL jamming. You look up the word jam in the dictionary and there is no description of the word, just a picture of Frank Marino.

You get here two full CD's of some of the most psychedelic guitarwork ever released. From hypnotic, spacey segments to full out, "hang- on- to- your -chair" jamming that just does not end. There's a great selection of songs included here that spans a 30 year time frame. Some highlights include a blazing, on- fire version of 'He's Calling' originally released on Eye Of The Storm. The intensity of this piece is enough to power a medium sized nation. The song 'Strange Universe' will make your head spin. There's also a unique and very "Frank" version of 'Red House'- the only thing Mr. Hendrix had to do with this version is the words as it heads into the jazz realm. Everything from hard rock to blues, from jazz to progressive rock, but no matter what Frank is playing, it is jamming to the fullest meaning of the word. This album goes from beautiful simple guitar pieces to some unbelievably complex works. This is by far the best band Mr. Marino has ever put together with long time bassist Peter Dowse, Mick Lane on rhythm guitar and Josh Trager on drums. Considered by many to be the greatest guitarist that has ever picked the instrument up, this album is proof that that statement is a fact. Phenomenal.

Comes with a 16 page booklet also...very cool!

Track List
CD #1
1)Voodoo Chile
2)...Something's Comin' Our Way (excerpt)
3)He's Calling
4)Red House
5)Guitar Prelude To A Hero
6)...Stories Of A Hero
7)Poppy
8)...She's Not There
9)...Crossroads
10)...She's Not There (return)
11)...Poppy (return)


CD#2
1)Let There Be....
2)...Strange Universe
3)...Ode To Creation
4)...Strange Universe
5)Rock N Roll Hall Of Fame
6)...Ain't Dead Yet (excerpt)
7)...Slippin' and Slidin'
8)...Back To The Hall
9)...Two And Four (Just Joshin')
10)Avalon
11)...Rumble And Roll (For Pete's Sake)
12)...Jazzed A Moment
13)...Tales Of The Unexpected
14)...Return To Avalon
15)Rattle Of Sabres
16)...Electric Reflections Of War
17)...Aftermath
18)...The World Anthem
19)...A Prayer For Peace
20)Somewhere Over The Rainbow
21)Try For Freedom

Added: October 18th 2004
Reviewer: Rick Ray
Score:
Related Link: Official Website
Hits: 11218
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]

  

[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]


» SoT Staff Roundtable Reviews:

Marino, Frank & Mahogany Rush: Real Live
Posted by Pete Pardo, SoT Staff Writer on 2004-12-18 07:44:46
My Score:

There are legends....and then there are legends. Frank Marino is one of those musicians who has quietly amassed a stellar collection of material since his appearance on the scene in the mid-70's while in his teenage years. Whether you call is hard rock, psychedelic rock, progressive, jazz, or blues, the end result is always the same-fiery music that reeks of quality and virtuosity.

This latest 2 CD set from Marino and his band Mahogany Rush is over 2 hours of amazing guitar explorations played with conviction, passion, and a sense of melody that few other musicians on the planet could even think to muster. Call it the ultimate excess in extended guitar jams, or call it the most creative merging of jazz, prog, hard rock and blues. Either way, this is a perfect example of a seasoned guitarist who is perfectly accepting of his place in today's scene as well as his status in the history of rock music.

Real Live contains many of Frank's signature tunes from throughout his career, like the jazzy instrumental "Poppy", "Strange Universe", "Rock and Roll Hall of Fame", the majestic "Tales of The Unexpected", the sonic guitar explorations of "Electric Reflections of War", and "The World Anthem". However, the real treat is to hear songs like "Stories of a Hero", one of Marino's most underrated 80's cuts, given a royal treatment here with passionate vocals and ripping guitar work. Also, the tunes he covers from his recent album Eye of the Storm are played with more fire than the studio versions, examples being the metallic "He's Calling" or the challenging "Avalon".

If you are a fan of masterful guitar playing, this might be the opus that needs to be in your collection to sit besides The Allman Brothers At the Fillmore, Hendrix's Band of Gypsies or Creem's Live Cream as one of the ultimate live guitar albums. Run out and grab this wonderful piece of history-it's that good folks!


» Reader Comments:

Marino, Frank & Mahogany Rush: Real Live
Posted by voodoo on 2004-11-14 13:14:42
My Score:

the best just got better scorching spiritual musicmiss thisat your peril

Marino, Frank & Mahogany Rush: Real Live
Posted by Dave 'Snail' Cooke on 2004-10-23 04:28:37
My Score:

Is this Frank's greatest ever recorded work? Well, that's a matter of opinion. I regard Frank as a master composer and studio artist. Real Live features many pieces not written by him and is, in the main, full of spontaneous jams. The recording quality is top-notch on every level.

Two things to bear in mind when listening to Real Live: Firstly, this is one concert performance – not a selection of the best of a series of concerts. This was done in one night. The consistency of performance is astonishing. Where are all the duff notes!? Frank is on majestic form on every song. Secondly, although the band sound meticulously rehearsed, this is not the case. The musicians are in total empathy with each other and are immersed in the jams. The fluidity of changes is extremely impressive.

Every time I play these disks I find another 'favourite bit'. About two-thirds of the way into the solo in 'He's Calling' Frank plays the most staggering lead guitar. Utterly mesmerising. 'Red House' sees Frank playing in a jazz-blues-bebop style way beyond any of his contemporaries (and indeed his predecessors).

Do I regard Frank as the greatest guitarist ever? Yes. Next question please…

Marino, Frank & Mahogany Rush: Real Live
Posted by Kevin on 2004-10-21 07:26:29
My Score:

What can I say? Except Lord it was worth the wait!!! Every aspect of this new release is Fantastic. The production and mix of this project brings to any true Mahogany Rush fan the true power and wizardry of Frank Marino's Live performances. After receiving this gem in the mail this morning I have now listened to it 3 times, and as I am writing, I am listening to it the fourth time(headphones this time A REAL MUST!) Every song on this 2CD set is great, from the opening notes of Voodoo Chile to the final notes of Try For Freedom it is one guitar pyrotecnique after the other. One standout for me is Ode To Creation a nice 10 minute plus jam done in the middle of Strange Universe. It has what all fans of Frank are looking for(You all know what I mean I am sure.) Another highlight the segueing of Poppy, Shes Not There, & Crossroads. For those who grew up and revered Eric Clapton and Creams version of Crossroads you now have the Frank Marino version and all I have to say is Sorry Eric but he kicked your butt on this one. I cannot say more for the team of players that now make up Mahogany Rush. Mick "Coyote" Layne on Second Guitar really gives Frank the room he needs to do those things he does so well. He also holds his own on lead guitar too. Mr. Josh Trager the young dynamo who keeps that solid beat going for the band shows off his stuff on his solo spot aptly named Two "n" Four (Just Joshin'). Peter Dowse on bass lays down the backbone with a rolling funk style that as a bass player myself, envies. He shines on Avalon giving this song that tap your foot, bop your head groove. When he gets to strut his stuff on Rumble "n" Roll(For Pete's Sake) you get to hear those jazzy bass riffs that show why he is in this band. Last but surely not least Frank Marino the man, the guitar. Just awesome! There is many a time on all of his past releases that I had to stop for a second and say to myself "did he really just do that?" Well on this CD there are a few of those moments. I have to thank him and all those involved with the release of this fine CD. So as Rattle Of Sabres soars in my head for the fourth time today I sum it all up with these final words. BLOODY GREAT!!!

Marino, Frank & Mahogany Rush: Real Live
Posted by Kurt KCKC on 2004-10-20 20:14:51
My Score:

All I can say is WOW!! Got RealLive a couple weeks ago. It's still in the player. 150 plus minutes, all of it great! There's something for everyone here. If you're a Marino fan - get it. If not? Get it anyway, and you'll be chasing his catalog for more.

Marino, Frank & Mahogany Rush: Real Live
Posted by DENIS on 2004-10-20 01:57:14
My Score:

A fantastic live album

Marino, Frank & Mahogany Rush: Real Live
Posted by Bob Nelson on 2004-10-20 01:56:35
My Score:


Marino, Frank & Mahogany Rush: Real Live
Posted by Wild Willy Parsons on 2004-10-19 22:00:52
My Score:

This release defines Frank Marino. Live and Unleashed. So many styles weave throughout, Rock, Jazz, Blues and even some Scat. Pure tone and emotion. Not for the casual "short-attention-span" listener. Break out the heaphones and ready yourself for a ride...a long one!

Marino, Frank & Mahogany Rush: Real Live
Posted by JaminJim Lane on 2004-10-19 20:02:50
My Score:

Great review!! RealLive is proof Rock And Roll is alive and well.
Thanks Frank Marino & Mahogany Rush!!
Makes a great Gift for the Guitar fan in the house.

Marino, Frank & Mahogany Rush: Real Live
Posted by Kevin Dean on 2004-10-19 18:25:19
My Score:

This has to be one of if the best live performance out there. This CD is pure magic. All you guitar lovers out there put this one on your must have list.

Marino, Frank & Mahogany Rush: Real Live
Posted by Bob Moyer on 2004-10-19 11:42:57
My Score:

I could not agree more with Rick's review. This set is a MUST buy.




© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by SpeedSoft.com